Tuition Rewards by SAGE Scholars

Founded in 1916, Russell Sage College (Troy, NY) offers women interdisciplinary programs focused on leadership and entrepreneurship in an environment that empowers students to become women of influence in their careers and communities.

Russell Sage College enrolls 700 undergraduates -- 150 in accelerated bachelor's/master's programs -- and is home to the only incubator for nanotechnology and emerging science ventures on a women's college campus. The Discovery Degree – "Your Bachelor's in Three" – allows exceptional students to enhance almost any major and earn a degree in three years, with interdisciplinary coursework and travel that uses the Hudson River as a text to study history, the arts, and social, political, economic and environmental issues. Majors include creative arts in therapy, musical theatre, nutrition and nursing.

Russell Sage offers an extensive internship program. Many students complement their classroom learning with semesters abroad. Strategic global partnerships include the Sage-SIFT Alliance with the Shanghai Institute of Foreign Trade; an exchange program for nursing students with Mahidol University in Thailand; and, relationships with universities in Canada, China and Mexico.

A gorgeous campus – with Victorian brownstones surrounding a modern glass-domed pavilion and hidden courtyards – supplies students with an array of environments for every study session (or study break!).

Visit online:

Russell Sage College was founded in Troy, New York, in 1916 by Margaret Olivia Slocum Sage and named in honor of her late husband, who had left her his considerable fortune. With Eliza Kellas, head of the Emma Willard School, Mrs. Sage was active in the women’s suffrage movement; in founding the new College, they proposed to offer women the means of independence through the combination of broad education in the liberal arts with preparation for specific professional careers. Initially, the college operated under the charter of the Emma Willard School, granting its first baccalaureate degree in 1918 and graduating its first class in 1920. In 1927, the New York State Board of Regents granted a separate charter for Russell Sage College and reaffirmed the status of Emma Willard as a secondary school. During World War II, an “emergency men’s division” was created and in 1942 the first graduate degree was conferred. In 1949, an Albany Division was opened, offering two-year, four-year and graduate degrees under the charter of Russell Sage College and extending the College’s mission to include the education of men on the second campus. The Sage Junior College of Albany received its own degree-granting powers in 1957. In 1995, the Sage Graduate School became authorized to grant degrees independently, the Sage Evening College became recognized as a separate administrative unit, and the institution was re-chartered by the Board of Regents of the state of New York as The Sage Colleges, often referred to for the sake of convenience as “Sage.” The words “Russell Sage College” now refer only to the college for women. In 2001, the Sage Junior College of Albany and Sage Evening College were replaced by a single entity, Sage College of Albany. In 2009 Sage restructured its graduate programs around three key areas of strength and expertise to create the Esteves School of Education, School of Health Sciences, and School of Management. The schools capitalize on Sage’s leading professional degree and certificate programs at the post-baccalaureate, master’s, post-master’s, and doctorate levels. The schools will also draw from the bachelor’s programs at Sage’s two undergraduate colleges.

Sage is a community of scholars committed to empowering students