Tuition Rewards by SAGE Scholars

Tuition Rewards News

April 27, 2009

Illinois Institute of Technology Joins Tuition Rewards

April 27, 2009 – Illinois Institute of Technology (Chicago), a Ph.D.-granting university with superb programs in architecture, engineering, psychology, the sciences and the humanities, is the newest member of the SAGE Scholars Tuition Rewards program.

With an 8:1 student/faculty ratio, IIT is committed to providing a distinctive and relevant education through hands-on learning, dedicated teachers and undergraduate research opportunities. 24% of classes have fewer than 10 students; 90% have fewer than 40 students. Classes are taught by senior faculty -- not teaching assistants -- who foster a culture of innovation with their own first-hand research experience.

Students are immersed in IIT’s interdisciplinary approach to learning through the team-based, creative problem-solving experience of the Interprofessional Projects Program (IPROs). In Spring 2009, students completed over 50 projects, including IPRO 340: Improving Health Care Information Systems in a Community Health Services Network and IPRO team 351: Custom Clothing: E-Tailoring that Delivers Customer Value.

The world-class city of Chicago enables priceless student access to internships and employment. IIT's Office of Undergraduate Research provides mentored collaborative research experiences. The entrepreneurship program challenges students to develop start-up technology companies. University Technology Park at IIT, a business incubator located on campus, supports this challenge by providing numerous opportunities to work with companies at every stage of growth, from conception to sophistication.

IIT’s diverse student population mirrors the global work environment; 97% of students receive financial aid. In addition to the undergraduate, graduate and Ph.D. programs on main campus, IIT also includes Chicago-Kent School of Law, Institute of Design, Stuart School of Business and the Center for Professional Development. IIT competes in the NCAA Division 1 Chicagoland Athletic Conference.

View More Recent News Stories